TS Eliot and The Road to Emmaus

Standard

I’ve been rereading some T S Eliot recently. Studied him at uni. Have loved ‘The Wasteland‘ ever since. I have found the passage that alludes to the Road to Emmaus very moving lately. It comes near the end of the poem. The hope of new life after the dry, dry desert, the  monotony and banality of city life… and then some! I love that bit about ‘the white road’:

Robert Zünd, 1877

Robert Zünd, 1877 (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

“Who is the third who walks always beside you?

When I count, there are only you and I together

But when I look ahead up the white road

There is always another one walking beside you

Gliding wrapped in a brown mantle, hooded

I do not know whether a man or a woman

–But who is that on the other side of you?”

 

Enhanced by Zemanta
