The Vanity of the Blogger

Standard
Writing

Writing (Photo credit: jjpacres)

I’ve separated my Twitter and Facebook accounts so I can can use Twitter to connect with the coves who follow this blog and similar types while keeping FB more generalised. This Matthew Burt character, who I don’t even know, made a comment on FB about how he was going to blog about the vanity of blogging.

Hope he does ‘cos I sit here tapping away to people who don’t know me and I think: ‘why on earth should they care about what I think or my story? What utter vanity!’

But I can’t help myself. Some people can’t resist drink or drugs. Some are sports freaks and get fired up by football or marathon running. For me communication turns me on, especially in the written form. I write a lot – journaling (believe me, you don’t want to see that heartfelt scrawl!), in the work I do, blogging, Facebooking, texting. It drives me nuts sometimes. I wish I could be calm, be still!

I do wonder if it’s part of being an Only Child. One spent so many years entertaining oneself (quite happily for the most part, it has to be said) either through drawing or writing, creating stories, that it becomes second nature. Or maybe The Only has a greater need to communicate, to go outside of being… one. If you don’t make that first move as an Only the move to connect you end up in a state of Splendid Isolation!

Maybe I must go with the flow that God created for me. I’m a (bad) typist, tapper and writer. Better just accept it.

Enhanced by Zemanta
